Some people came to my party but other unreliable people

Ok so some people came to the launch I arranged including the local MP. And everyone seemed to have a good time. But no media showed which was a bit disappointing. Having said that, colleagues of mine who have had similar launches in other parts of the country and have had media turn up, have not done any better in finding participants.  Who would have thought it would be this hard to give away money!

Most importantly for me, people were enjoying themselves and there was lots of chatting and laughter.  So if nothing else I hope the people who did come remember my program with a smile.  The politician who came to the launch was very supportive and surprisingly warm and genuine.

But the event was more stressful than it needed to be as people with key things for the launch including the drinks showed up late.  I hate unreliable people, particularly when they are supposed to be working with you!  So instead of getting to talk to people about the program I am running, was busily sorting out things as people arrived.  Was quite cross as the traffic where I live is not that bad – the people were late because they couldn’t give a damn.

It does make me think working for myself is the way to go.  I know things can still go wrong but would have felt more in control.  Does this make me a control freak?  I think not – just someone who likes to be organised.

But one launch down and one to go.

~ by Caroline on June 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
